4 Things to Do if You’ve Suffered a Work Injury
Have you suffered a work injury? Unless it has happened before, most people aren’t sure what to do. Here are four things you should do:Report the Injury to Your Supervisor Immediately
Do it in writing if possible. Make sure to date the report and include how and when you were injured. Under Tennessee law, an injured worker has 30 days to report a work injury to the employer. Failing to do so may adversely affect your claim. By submitting your injury report in writing, you will have evidence to document your case if needed.If it is an Emergency, Go to the ER Immediately. Otherwise, Ask for an Authorized Physician to Treat Your Injury
Under Tennessee law, employers must provide an injured worker with a panel of physicians from which they can choose a doctor to treat their work injury. Seeing an unauthorized doctor can adversely affect your claim, so make sure to choose a doctor from the list provided by your employer. Your choice of a doctor should not be taken lightly, as this doctor is the gateway for all future treatment. Research the doctors on your own and consult with an experienced Workers’ Compensation lawyer if your employer has not provided you with choices.Make Sure the Doctor Knows That You Were Injured on the Job and How the Injury Occurred
The medical staff will not know how you were injured unless you tell them. It is very important that you clearly tell your doctor that you were injured at work and describe for them how and when the injury occurred so that they can provide detailed information for your medical records.Find out About Your Work Restrictions
Don’t forget to ask your authorized treating physician if you have any work restrictions. If you are given restrictions, make sure to take a copy of the restrictions to your employer. Ask if they have work for you that fits within your set of restrictions. If your doctor tells you not to work or your employer does not have work within your restrictions, you may be entitled to temporary total disability payments, or TTD. TTD is paid out at 66 and 2/3 percent of your average weekly wage and starts to accumulate after 8 consecutive days off of work.Do You Need a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer?
Don’t wait! If you do, you may jeopardize any claim that you have. Under Tennessee law you have one year from the date of your work injury to file the appropriate paperwork to preserve your workers’ compensation claim. This period of time can be extended under certain circumstances, but only an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer who has reviewed your case can tell you for sure.
Attorney Andrew Roberto served as a Workers’ Compensation specialist for the Tennessee Department of Labor before entering private practice. He has the experience and expertise that you need if you’ve been injured on the job. Contact him today at (865) 691-2777 or use the convenient response online form.